Archive for May 31, 2012

The Last Strand

Posted: May 31, 2012 in Florida, HDR, Nikon D90

Here’s the first picture from my Key West trip last week. I’m still processing over a thousand individual pictures, so you’ll have to bear with me (I’m sure there are plenty nice picturesque ocean pictures too) but for the time being this is the one I chose to start off with, so deal with it. It also happens to be the first picture I have posted using my new (to me) Nikon D90. The auto-bracketing feature alone makes it so much more user-friendly to use over my D40.

This shot is of the old Strand movie theatre on Duval Street in Key West, Florida. The movie theatre itself opened in the 20’s and functioned as such until the 80’s when it became a night club, then a Ripley’s Believe it or Not, and finally a Walgreen’s drug store, which it currently is, as shown above. It’s actually a good thing though, since where on earth are you going to be able to buy prescription medication AND tacky T-shirts on Duval Street?

I had to wait for a break in traffic, run out to the middle of the street, compose, and fire off my 3-shot series, to get this final image. But it was so worth it. I took this just as the sun was starting to set (off to the left) and got the lovely splash of pink and blue in the sky that seems to just work perfectly with the neon lights of the Walgreens theatre.  

Click Picture for Full Resolution