Must be the Shallow End

Posted: December 3, 2012 in HDR, Michigan, Nikon D90

End of the LineOkay, I don’t really get this one… I mean I may just be totally ignorant of some unknown fact, but this was a shot of the shoreline at Lake Michigan, which is a fresh-water lake, which, as far as I know doesn’t have a change in tide or anything… If anyone knows, please feel free to chime in, I actually would like to know why you need a dock for the beach.

Click the picture for full resolution.

Comments
  1. rontuaru says:

    The Great Lakes are not isolated inland, but connected to large bodies of water via canals and the St. Lawrence Seaway. It does seem odd, but I know the lake levels rise and fall over time and seasons. I did a little digging: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_Michigan (You’ll have to scroll way down near the bottom of the page to read about water levels) Hope that helps! (My father grew up on Lake Ontario and retired on the St. Lawrence Seaway)

Leave a Reply

