Light Dome

Posted: October 23, 2012 in HDR, Illinois, Nikon D90

I was attracted to the Cultural Center in Downtown Chicago because of this colorful light dome you see here. The Cultural Center is located right across from Millenium Park, so it’s easy to find. Once you go in, head up to the 2nd floor to see this amazing dome, with it’s hundreds of fish-scale like glass orbs, reflecting light into the atrium.

When we visited, there was a violinest and pianist playing directly below the dome for anyone who cared to come in and sit down. Of course, I tried to take my photos without disturbing the musicians or listeners; and as I moved around the lobby, I felt very soothed by the beautiful music that flowed through the building. My friend later said that sitting listening to the music and waiting for me to take my pictures was one of his favorite experiences of the trip. Perhaps you might be able to catch a similar experience if you visit…

Click on the picture for full resolution.

Leave a Reply

