Empire Sunset

Posted: October 11, 2012 in HDR, Michigan, Nikon D90

It was hard to judge driving time along the M22 in the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Seashore. Also, with the family along, we ended up getting late starts, and somehow ended up needing to eat right at the Golden Hour. Therefore, it seemed like I missed prime sunset at the beach almost everyday. However, one evening driving back toward Empire, Michigan f0r dinner, just as the sun was setting over the dunes, I noticed a turn-off for a public beach. As we rounded the bend it was easy to see that I would be able to grab my epic sunset picture here.

I opened the car door and was immediately sand-blasted. The wind was ripping so hard that I had to literally cover my face to avoid getting sand in my eyes and mouth. I set up the tripod and cupped my hands around the back of the camera to compose the shot without getting anything in my eyes. I was fortunate to have about 10 to 15 minutes here to try a couple different angles as the sun slide below the horizon. Here’s one of my favorites.

Comments

Leave a Reply

