LaPush Sunset

Posted: September 30, 2012 in HDR, Nikon D90, Washington

Originally I had planned on being on Rialto Beach for my sunset picture. But after we visited there, I decided First Beach at LaPush would hold a much more dramatic frame.  It was a good thing I had budgeted plenty of time so that I could be in place when the time was right. In fact, we had enough time to grab a coffee at the Three Rivers Resort Diner (AKA The official Vampire/Werewolf Treaty Line), before we made it back down to First Beach and got ready to shoot.

There is a huge peninsula at the north end of the beach that’s comprised of a log jam of enormous pieces of driftwood. I clamored over these bleached out trees until I found the perfect spot. It was a good thing too, because once the sun started to set, I was joined by three or four other ambitious photographers along with one guy who was flying a kite with a point and shoot camera attached to the string. I still wonder how his pictures turned out…

Click the picture for full resolution.

Leave a Reply

