A Mountain Darkly

Posted: September 28, 2012 in HDR, Nikon D90, Washington

Before you ask, no, the sky was not this color in real life. In fact, it was a much more muted grey on a slightly darker grey. There was pretty much no color in the sky whatsoever. In fact, the original scene was so monochromatic to begin with, that I had already resolved to go black and white. But, as I was hovering over some of my filter options, the preview pane showed me one that was almost exactly what you see here.

It was one of those filter settings that you never use because it is so overly done to begin with that things end up looking like something out of Tim Burton’s, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory remake. I saw that film once, I don’t care to repeat it, thank you… But when I saw that filter applied to this image, it gave this stormy mountain an entirely different apocolyptica-type feel, and I have to admit, I liked it.

Click the picture or else the word will end on December 23rd.

Leave a Reply

