The Lonely Mountain

Posted: September 26, 2012 in HDR, Nikon D90, Washington

Here’s a shot of Emmons glacier on Mt. Rainier, from one of the trails at Sunrise Visitor Center. I took this with my 70-200 zoom to get a nice close up composition of the trail to the summit. As I took this shot, a ranger-led hiking tour passed through and I listened as the guide described the challenges that quite a few people who attempt to climb Mt. Rainier face every year. Personally, I don’t know much about climbing mountains, but it sounds one part amazing/epic, and one part terrifiying/crazy. I will say this however; having witnessed the size and scale of this mountain first-hand, my hat’s off to anyone who could pull that climb off.

Click the picture for full resolution.

Leave a Reply

