Atop Hancock

Posted: September 14, 2012 in HDR, Illinois, Nikon D90

The last time I visited Chicago, I bought the City Pass, which is undeniably a good deal if you’re going to see all the sights. That pass also included the Hancock Observatory. So, when I went back to Chicago just recently to take photographs, I was a little shocked by the a la carte price just to visit the observatory… $17.50 per person! Ouch!

It was only after that visit that the information-retaining portion of my brain kicked in and reminded me that there is a separate bank of elevators on the street level (one level up from the basement level observatory elevators) that will take you up to the bar on the 96th floor. The bar has the same, if not better views, than the observatory, and only requires you to purchase a drink to enjoy. In reality, I’m not even sure if we would have HAD to buy a drink, but when in Rome…

Anyway, that beer cost me about $10, but I did get some great shots of the city at night. Here’s one of those shots, looking toward the Sears, er, Willis Tower, coming to you free of charge. Enjoy!

Click on the picture for full resolution and for more shots from this gallery.

Leave a Reply

