Ash Cave

Posted: August 16, 2012 in HDR, Nikon D40, Ohio

When my friend Brooks and I visited the Hocking Hills region of Ohio we determined to hit all the major points of interest in the three days we were there, plus hit the zip lines one afternoon. It was a bit to do in such a short time, especially with some rain the first evening we arrived, but we got it all in. In fact, the day I took this picture was especially nice. We first went to see Cedar Falls, and then I determined it wouldn’t be that far of a walk to Ash Cave from the Cedar Falls parking lot. Well… it turned out to be a little farther than I thought… Not unmanageable my any means, but a little more than I bargained for carrying all my photo equipment anyway… and by the time we got to the falls I was ready to dive in…

At first it was kind of a joke; but then a spirit of reckless independence (or craziness… not sure) took over, and I gave the camera to Brooks, peeled off everything but my shorts and waded into the pool until I was directly below the falls; letting the water beat over my head and shoulders. It was probably illegal (by park standards), but I managed to put on a show for about 20 or 30 people without getting a ticket.

Like what you see? Buy a print! Click on picture for full resolution & to visit my entire gallery and store!

Leave a Reply

