Sunburst

Posted: June 3, 2012 in Nikon D40, South Carolina

This shot was from one early morning on a vacation to Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. We had split an ocean view condo with another couple (our friends from Memphis). Greg, knowing I would probably be up early taking pictures sometime, told me that if I get up in the morning to take pictures of the sunrise, then I should wake him up as well. The next morning, I just happened to wake up earlier than sunrise, so I thought, “I should really get out there to get a picture.” I knew we didn’t have any time to waste, knowing approximately how soon the sun was going to come up, approximately how long it would take to get my stuff, get out to the beach, and set up, and knowing how long it normally takes Greg to get going in the morning (he is a born and bred southerner afterall…)

                We gathered our stuff quickly, and after sprinting through the parking lot & pool area, made for the show. I wasn’t entirely sure how the pictures were going to turn out because I really didn’t have time to put in my contacts; so I relied on my autofocus, and my semi-blurry vision, hoping they would come out good later on. As a result, I have a series of shots that document that entire sunrise, but I think I like this one best.

Click the picture for full resolution

Leave a Reply

