Wasting Away

Posted: May 19, 2012 in HDR, Nikon D40, Ohio

This shot came from the 2011 Potato Festival in Spring Valley, Ohio. Spring Valley is a small town, and I’m pretty sure everyone that lives there (and more) are at the Potato Festival on that particular weekend, because it is packed! I for one love Potatoes, they are my favorite vegetable! 🙂 So when I was asked to go, I first asked if there would be gypsy’s present, and when told no, I shrugged and said, “yeah, I’ll still go… but it just won’t be the same without gypsy’s…”

While we were there we partook in some amazing Potato-related dishes, and Kettle-Corn (because Kettle-Corn is the requisite food at every Festival). Along with the food there were plenty of arts and crafts type booths set up, old cars, motorcycles, and lawnmowers (I believe) to look at; not to mention the live entertainment. My daughters loved it as well, and eventually collapsed when they got back in the car due to phenomenal sugar crashes.

Spring Valley also has its share of cool old buildings; some of them in a state of disrepair, like the one in the picture above. One of the big things I look for when taking an artistic picture is texture. I want the viewer to be able to almost feel the rust on a corroded pipe, or be afraid of getting a splinter looking at an old wooden bench. In this picture I tried to convey this through the peeling paint. It’s also kind of funny because before I started looking for stuff like this to take pictures of; I would have disregarded this building as a dump. Now I look at things like this in a different light.

Click on the picture for full resolution

Leave a Reply

