Ohio

Posted: May 4, 2012 in HDR, Nikon D40, Ohio

This picture was taken from inside the National Air Force Museum in Dayton, Ohio. I think the aircraft was a Curtiss or Seversky, but honestly I just don’t know. As I was there taking pictures, one of the helpful retiree museum guides approached me and told me some random fact about one of the planes. I nodded my head and said “that’s cool” in the most respectful manner I could. But I think he noted my indifference because he then added, “Do you know much about these aircraft, or are you just here taking pictures?” I had to admit, I was just taking pictures. But I then explained a little about how the HDR stuff works, and he actually seemed a little interested. I told him I did enjoy historical items but there was no way I could remember all the facts that he somehow absorbed. I think this kind of softened him because he smiled in that “these whipper-snappers and their new fangled ideas” type of way.

Anyway, I love this picture because it conveys depth, color, and texture. The HDR effect is wonderful in places like this because you can actually represent the subject in the same lighting that you actually saw it in. This way, you don’t have to tell people “well, you just should have been there;” or, “It looked better in person.”

Click the picture for full resolution.

Leave a Reply

